Family Matters Law Group P.A.
Call Us For A Free Phone Consultation : 866-593-0459

Criminal Misdemeanor DUI Penalties

There are mandatory minimum penalties for a Criminal DUI with important penalties of which you should be aware if you're charged with a DUI in Florida. 

*First DUI* MINIMUMS: A period of probation, 6 months' driver's license suspension, 50 community service hours, Level 1 DUI school, $500 fine, 10 days immobilization for your vehicle, Court costs. UP TO: One year driver's license suspension, 180 days in the Broward County Jail and/or 12 months of probation, $1,000 fine, in addition to other various possible penalties the judge may impose

*Second DUI within 5 Years* - MINIMUMS: A period of probation, 5 years driver's license revocation, 10 days in the Broward County Jail, Level 2 DUI School, $1,000 fine, 30 days immobilization for your vehicle, 1 year interlock installed in your vehicle, Court costs. UP TO: PERMANENT REVOCATION OF YOUR DRIVER'S LICENSE, 270 days in Jail and/or 12 months of probation, $2,000 fine, In addition to other various possible penalties the judge may impose

*Second DUI outside of 5 Years* MINIMUMS: A period of probation, 6 months driver's license suspension, Level 2 DUI School, $1,000 fine, 10 days immobilization for your vehicle, 1 year interlock installed on your vehicle, Court costs. UP TO: 1 year driver's license suspension, 270 days in the Broward County Jail and/or 12 months of probation, $2,000 fine, In addition to other various possible penalties the judge may impose. The driver's license suspensions above are also separate from any suspension imposed administratively. For example, if you refuse a breath/blood/urine test when arrested for DUI (keep in mind, they'll ask you for this AFTER they've already arrested you), your license will automatically be suspended for a period of 12 months for a first refusal, and for a period of 18 months for a second or subsequent refusal (refusals, NOT DUIs). However, if you don't refuse and you are above Florida's .08 legal limit, your license will still get suspended for a period of 6 months (they don't tell you that part!)

These penalties above are only for first and second DUIs. Harsher penalties, including mandatory minimum penalties, exist if your DUI: (1) Involves a crash, especially if someone is seriously injured or dies (2) Is an enhanced DUI, which occur if you have a person under 18 years of age in your car OR if your level of intoxication is above .15 (3) Is charged as a felony. (You MAY be charged with a felony if you are facing your 3rd or subsequent DUI, or if someone is injured as a result.)

If you have been arrested  call a qualified criminal defense attorney. Call our office for a free consultation. www.solarislegal.com 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Let Us Know How We Can Help Your Family

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Office Location

Family Matters Law Group P.A.
6950 Cypress Rd.
Suite #107
Plantation, FL 33317

Toll Free: 866-593-0459
Phone: 954-601-3737
Plantation Law Office Map